≡ Menu

453 join 2014 Terry Larrazabal Bike Fest

tlbf bike jumpORMOC CITY – “The 2014 Terry Larrazabal Bike Festival is not yet done, and I’m already excited for next year’s TLBF!!!,” posted organizer Atty. Gregorio Y. Larrazabal on his Facebook status at around 2:00 PM of Sunday, October 26, as bikers pedaled their way through a challenging race course set at a hilly range of the city. 

This year’s winners are:  For the Cross Country (aged 14-17) Arjay Beato; Juniors (18-23 years old) Jayrald Glema; and Seniors (24-29 years old) Johnny Sevillejo.

For the Single Speed (15 and above), Ericson Pestano was declared winner. While the SMB Beer Run title went to Hernane Cabugwason Jr. (19 years old and above).

The tricky Downhill Elite event was lorded by Eleazar Barba Jr.; Joelito Calibgos for the 19 years old and below; Carmelo Martinez for 20-29 years old; Jessie Sanchez for 30-39 years old and Eugenion Malabanan for the 40 and above.

Some 453 participants joined the Bike Festival that kicked of on the morning of October 25, Saturday.

The TLBF this year is also a qualifying race for the Philippine Mountain Bike Team, it was learned.

Atty. Gregorio Y. Larrazabal, founder of the TLBF, said there is only one qualifying race for mountain bike racers, and it is the TLBF.

Larrazabal, a former Commission on Election commissioner, founded the race in honor of his late father, Emeterio Larrazabal Sr., a former OIC mayor of the City.

Events this year were the National Downhill MBX, National Cross Country, TLBF Cross Country, BMX, Flat land, Enduro, and Single Speed.

Composing this year’s panel of commissar who will judge the races are Maximillian Mager and Beatrice Lawaja (international) and Athena Mendoza, Lester Lebumfacil, Arjuna Saulo, Jay Cheng and Parabannes Mendoza (national).

Parabannes Mendoza designed the racecourse for the national races which Beatrice Lawaja described was of “international standard.”

The Philippine Team members will be picked from the winners of the Elite category, for both male and female.

The races opened on Saturday morning with a “fun race” around the city and a Beer Run. The beer run is particularly popular with the locals. Finishers are each made to drink three cans of San Miguel Light, Red Horse and Pilsen at the end of the race. The fastest to down the three cans are declared winners. By Jhay Gaspar and Lalaine M. Jimenea

Comments on this entry are closed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com